FAQ

  1. How do I know if you are a legitimate dealer in firearms?
  2. How long is the waiting period in California?
  3. What does it take to buy or complete a gun transfer from UG Imports?
  4. What are examples of proof of residency?
  5. What kind of handguns are legal in California?
  6. What is DROS and how much does it cost? When are DROS fees due?
  7. What is a Handgun Safety Certificate? Do I need one?
  8. How many handguns can I buy at a time?
  9. Do I have to buy a gun lock with my firearm purchase?
  10. I don't live near Fremont, what are my options?
  11. I just purchased a handgun, when can I get my next one?
  12. Will you transfer AR/AK Pistols? Aren't those illegal?
  13. Will you do an Out of State Intra Family transfer?

1. How do I know if you are a legitimate dealer in firearms?

Go the BATFE's FFL E-Z Check page at https://www.atfonline.gov/fflezcheck. Then enter in the following code 9-94-00560. You can also contact the California DOJ at (916) 227-3694 and ask if UG Imports, LLC has a CFD number that authorizes them to conduct business in California.

2. How long is the waiting period in California?

The waiting period for the purchase or transfer of handguns and long guns is ten (10) 24-hour periods from the date and time of the acceptance of the DROS information by the CA DOJ and the assignment of the unique DROS number. Firearms cannot and will not be released to a purchaser before the end of the (10) 24-hour periods.

If you do not pick up your firearm within 30 days of original DROS submittal you will need to resubmit DROS information and pay the $25.00 DROS fee again.

3. What does it take to buy or complete a gun transfer from UG Imports?

In order to purchase or transfer a firearm from us you will have to make an appointment to come in to fill out the required paperwork.† This will start your background check and 10 day wait.† After (10) 24-hour periods you will have to come back to pick up your firearm.

4. What are examples of proof of residency and when do I need it?

For all firearms, Federal law requires a government issued identification that shows residence address.† If your ID has a P.O. Box or outdated residence address, a second form of government issued license or ID is required. Some acceptable examples that can show current residence address are: DMV address update card, voter registration card, automobile registration, or other government issued document that shows your residence address.

Additionally for handguns, California requires proof of residency, even if your State issued ID has your current address.† The DOJ has a website that they keep updated which you can access at http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/resprf.php.†

5. What is DROS and how much does it cost? When are DROS fees due?

DROS is an acronym for Dealer Record of Sale. DROS fees for a single handgun transaction are $25. DROS fees for each additional handgun are $21. Long gun DROS fees are a $25 flat fee for one or more long guns. Your DROS fees are due at the time of DROS submittal by UG Imports, also known as the start of your ten day waiting period. We must collect your DROS fees at that time. Regardless of your ability to pass the background check we must pay the DROS fees. Additionally if you do not pick up your firearm within a 30 day time frame from DROS submittal, you must start the DROS process over again and repay the appropriate fees.

If you want to check if you are eligible to take possession of a firearm, you can utilize the Personal Firearms Eligibility Check Program before you submit your DROS information.

6. What kind of handguns are legal in California?

California has created a Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale. Refer to the Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale before ordering a handgun, because UG Imports cannot sell you a handgun that is not on this list.

7. What is a Handgun Safety Certificate? Do I need one?

The Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) is explained in detail in the glossary section of this website. You will need an HSC if you want to buy a handgun from UG Imports or you will have to meet an appropriate exemption classification.

8. How many handguns can I buy at a time?

The State of California has determined that you should only buy one handgun in a 30 day period. Handgun transactions related to law enforcement, private party transfers, returns to owners, and other specified circumstances are exempt from the one-handgun-per-30-day restriction. There are other exceptions that you would know if you qualified for. If you live in another state you will need to know your local state laws.

9. Do I have to buy a gun lock with my firearm purchase?

If you do not have a UL listed gun safe as defined by the CA DOJ, you are required to buy an approved FSD (AKA gun lock) at the time of sale or show us a receipt for an approved FSD that you purchased in the 30-days prior to taking possession of your firearm. Many firearms also come with a gun lock and that may be used as well. Your local police department may also provide free locks as well.

10. I don't live near Fremont, what are my options?

If you do not live near Fremont, California we can only ship your firearm to an FFL dealer in your area. They will need to send us their signed FFL certificate by email, fax or postal mail. You can have your local dealer send us their certificate using the following information:

  • Email: sales@ugimports.com
  • Fax: (510) 740-4443
  • Snail Mail (Address Only for Mail):
    UG Imports, LLC
    39120 Argonaut Way
    Suite 761
    Fremont, CA 94538

11. I just purchased a handgun, when can I get my next one?

In California DOJ will reject Dealerís Record of Sale (DROS) applications submitted by any firearm dealer when it has been determined that the purchaser has completed a handgun DROS application that has been accepted by DOJ within the past thirty calendar days. In computing the thirty day period, the date the DROS application is accepted for processing by DOJ shall count as the first day.† For example, if you purchased a handgun on 10/20/2009 @ 12:00pm your next purchase can start the DROS process on 11/19/2009 @ 12:01pm.

In other states, please understand your local laws.

12. Will you transfer AR/AK Pistols? Aren't those illegal?

The pistols are only exempt from the CA DOJ Approved Roster of Handguns if they comply with 12133(b) which states:
"The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to a single-shot pistol with a barrel length of not less than six inches and that has an overall length of at least 10 1/2 inches when the handle, frame or receiver, and barrel are assembled."

13. Will you do an Out of State Intra Family transfer?

Yes, we will complete a 12078PC-compliant intrafamily transfer.† More details on the procedure can be found here.† The costs are the same as any other out of state transfer.
Back
WARNING: Federal law requires that you be 18 years of age or older to purchase shotguns or rifles and 21 years of age or older to purchase any other firearm.
Firearms will be sent to a Federal Firearms Licensed Dealer as required by Federal Law. For safety reasons, we do not accept returns on firearms, thus all firearms sales are
final unless otherwise noted. Check your state and local laws for any other regulations that may apply. By purchasing any firearms you agree that you are legally allowed to do so.


Copyright © 2019 UG Imports.